Gmail Recall Saves HR Headaches

Jul 08, 2015

To increase productivity and reduce cost, many of you have made the transition to Gmail for your workforce.  It’s robust and flexible but has lacked some of the functionality of traditional software-based email.  


Gmail just added a great function that allows the sender to recall messages, just like its software competitors.  Now, even Gmail can help reduce workplace drama and missteps.  :-)


Here’s how to enable Undo Send:

  • On the Gmail website, click the gear icon in the top-right corner and selectSettings.

  • On the General Tab, you should now see Undo Send listed as the tenth option.

  • To enable it, check the box next to Enable Undo Send.

  • Now choose the length of time you’d like to have the ability to recall your sent emails from the drop-down menu. Options include 5, 10, 20 and 30 seconds.


The feature is really quite simple; it basically configures a delay on your Send button. Instead of firing off your emails when you click Send, it holds them for however long you configure, and then sends them. This way, if you realize you sent something you didn’t mean to, you can recall it.

Once Undo Send is enabled, you’ll see this box at the top of the Gmail page after each email you send:

Screen Shot 2015-06-23 at 7.33.36 AM

Simply click the “Undo” link and your email will pop back up on the screen so you can make any necessary changes before sending it again.

Keep your workforce flexible and smart.  :-)

 





Please add a comment

Leave a Reply



(Your email will not be publicly displayed.)